No One Creates Alone: Past and Present in a Common Reading of Artist Sonja Ferlov Mancoba

Yvette Brackman , Johanne Løgstrup, Pia Rönicke

Publikation: Bidrag til bog/antologi/rapportBidrag til bog/antologiForskningpeer review


This transnational volume examines innovative women artists who were from, or worked in, Denmark, Finland, Greenland, Iceland, Norway, Sápmi, and Sweden from the emergence of modernism until the feminist movement took shape in the 1960s.

The book addresses the culturally specific conditions that shaped Nordic artists’ contributions, brings the latest methodological and feminist approaches to bear on Nordic art history, and engages a wide international audience through the contributors’ subject matter and analysis. Rather than introducing a new history of "rediscovered" women artists, the book is more concerned with understanding the mechanisms and structures that affected women artists and their work, while suggesting alternative ways of constructing women’s art histories. Artists covered include Else Alfelt, Pia Arke, Franciska Clausen, Jessie Kleemann, Hilma af Klint, Sonja Ferlov Mancoba, Greta Knutson, Aase Texmon Rygh, Hannah Ryggen, Júlíana Sveinsdóttir, Ellen Thesleff, and Astri Aasen.

The target audience includes scholars working in art history, cultural studies, feminist studies, gender studies, curatorial studies, Nordic studies, postcolonial studies, and visual studies. 
TitelModern Women Artists in the Nordic Countries, 1900-1960
RedaktørerKerry Greaves
Antal sider10
UdgivelsesstedNew York
Publikationsdato5 apr. 2021
ISBN (Trykt)9780367423384
ISBN (Elektronisk)9780367823672
StatusUdgivet - 5 apr. 2021